2010 Summer Interns – Germany

Former International Students to the US
Duties: Help with host family recruitment to ensure placement of all students.

ManuInternManuel

Why did you decide to intern with YFU USA this summer?

It was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and I just went for it. I wanted to help out YFU USA with placing students, since I was placed later in the summer. I had such a great experience in the US that I wanted to help YFU by giving back to the program. That is why I decided to throw my hat in the ring.

How did you grow from your past exchange experience?

Going on exchange was definitely the greatest choice in my life so far. It changed my viewpoint about the US, but I also learned a lot about myself. Apart from the obvious changes in appearance (I grew several inches), I can say that I became more mature, independent and open-minded. Having gone on exchange even motivated me to sign up for a voluntary service in India for a year, which I am going to this August.

What motivates you to help YFU in its search for quality host families?

My motivation is based on my own great experience with my host family in Kansas. I would like to give more exchange students the opportunity to live with an awesome family just as I did. In addition to that, finding host families and placing students has become more difficult every year. It’s very impressive to see the field directors and volunteers working together in action. They put a great deal of effort into recruiting families, and that really motivates me to help wherever I can.

What do you hope to get out of this summer experience?

This is my first real work experience, and I hope to learn much more about YFU as an organization. I also hope to get answers concerning my own future. Hopefully this internship will help me find out my passions and true interests.

MayaMaya

Why did you decide to intern with YFU USA this summer?

I myself was an exchange student in 2002/03 in Rocky Hill, CT. Since I came back to Germany I volunteered for various jobs with YFU Germany, and now I think is a great time to give something back to YFU USA. I know how hard it is to find host families here in Germany, and now I would like to help ensure that many more students will have a new home and a second family in the US.

How did you grow from your past exchange experience?

My mother says I grew in thinking about other people’s needs and helping them with whatever I can do. I think that my exchange experience gave me so many opportunities to learn not only about another culture but also about myself and my own culture. The benefits of my exchange experience didn’t end with my return to Germany – it opened my eyes to learning new things every day.

What motivates you to help YFU in its search for quality host families?

I lived with a great family, and I know how important it is to find good host families who are a good match with their student. I want each and every exchange student to have the experience of his or her lifetime, and like myself, continue to grow even beyond the exchange year itself.

What do you hope to get out of this summer experience?

I hope to be a big asset for the New England field in helping place quality students with quality families. I also hope to learn recruitment techniques which I can take back and utilize to find international students great host families in Germany.

Would you like to share your YFU Story? Please submit stories and pictures to marketing@yfu.org.

About Youth For Understanding USA

Youth For Understanding (YFU) advances intercultural understanding, mutual respect, and social responsibility through educational exchanges for youth, families and communities. The global YFU network, consisting of partners in more than 60 different countries, is united by the belief that full cultural immersion is the most effective means to gain the skills needed to thrive in an increasingly multicultural, interconnected and competitive global society. YFU has remained a trusted leader of intercultural exchange programs for more than 60 years because of its commitment to safety, reputation for quality, and exceptional support services. Backed by a global team of volunteers, YFU provides cultural education and guidance to all participants. Selected to administer more government and corporate scholarships than any other high school exchange program, YFU is the only organization awarded full-listing for J-1 inbound, outbound and short term exchange by the Council on Standards for International Educational Travel (CSIET). Through creating global learning opportunities, YFU has promoted international understanding and world peace to more than 250,000 students and their host families. Thousands of parents across the globe trust YFU with their teenagers every year, and thousands of students every year choose YFU to help them discover their inner selves.
This entry was posted in Volunteer Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

